In July, I started a new job in a different department that simplified my life drastically. No more working weekends, no more stress, no more worrying if my team was doing what they were supposed to. I felt like this is what I always needed to do before we had a baby and it had happened.

The “trying” continued until July, of course every month I thought I was pregnant because I’m so that person. The idea of it gets stuck in my head and I convince myself that it’s happening.

The end of July came, when I was supposed to start my period and I just didn’t feel it. I didn’t feel like I was getting ready to start. I remember crying on the way to work one morning because I forgot my lunch. I got home that Monday afternoon and decided to take a pregnancy test. Wait what?! It’s positive. I start sobbing (tears of joy!) and screaming. We had bought the cheap, crappy pregnancy tests because I didn’t want to splurge. Boy was I regretting that now.. I made an excuse to my husband that I needed to go to Kroger and get cheese for our dinner (since he was getting ready to leave work). I RAN to the store, grabbed the Clear Blue pregnancy tests and hustled home. I took two more tests and sure enough, they said “Pregnant”. My heart was BEATING out of my chest. This is so exciting. This is it. We’re having a baby. How am I going to tell him? How are we going to tell our families? Our friends? I type it in my phone and find out that I should be due around April 4th. Oh my gosh an Easter baby. By the time Easter gets here, we’ll have a baby! Then I hear the garage door opening and reality strikes. “Get yourself together, Chelsea… you cannot let him know!” So I pretended that my period had started. I acted sad, which made him sad.. and I felt terrible about it. After dinner, I messaged a friend on Facebook who does photography and told her that I want to do a surprise photo session and I’ll tell him I wanted to do a “five year anniversary” session.. but really, I’ll tell him I’m pregnant. This is perfect. Life is perfect. I am over the moon. I can’t WAIT until Thursday afternoon for our photo shoot.

It was so hard to keep it from him, but Thursday finally came. The look on his face when he saw the “We’re Pregnant” sign is something I’ll never forget. And to this day, it brings tears to my eyes. It was one of the best days of my life.

Our appointment was set for August 25th and it took FOREVER to get here. We wanted that ultrasound.. we wanted to see our little bee. We did weekly pictures of me and my feelings/cravings/moods, etc. We told my parents the day after I told my husband. I knew they’d be excited, but I was so scared to tell them. This would be their first grandchild and I’m an only child. Were they ready to be grandparents?! Ready or not, here it comes! Next, we told my best friend, Jessica. We had sworn we weren’t going to tell anyone until the ultrasound, but I couldn’t help it. We were FINALLY having a baby — and I wanted to tell the world. My best friend was coming to visit the weekend before the ultrasound and I just HAD to tell her too. I wouldn’t see her for a couple months, and I didn’t want to wait that long! My brother-in-law and his fiancee were going out of town, so we had to tell them too! They wouldn’t have been here for the ultrasound and we didn’t want them to be left out. Everyone was SO excited for us!!

During that long month leading up to the appointment, we had picked our nursery furniture, narrowed down names, made a to-do list for the house prior to baby arriving. Everything was set in motion. We were well on our way. We had even narrowed down baby monitors and strollers. To say we were excited would be the understatement of the century. My pinterest board was on overload… gender reveal ideas for the fall, baby shower ideas for the winter.. nursery plans and decor.. all of it. I had dove head first into motherhood without even needing to see a glimpse of this baby.

And then, FINALLY it was time for our appointment… our 8 week appointment that took oh so long to come.. was here.

 

Leave a Reply

